Vietnam visa exemption now to extend to 45 days

Vietnam visa system requires most nationalities to obtain a visa before entering the country. However, there are certain exemptions and special arrangements in place for citizens of certain countries.

From August 15th 2023, all nationalities and territories are granted to enter Vietnam with evisas.


What are the airports for Vietnam Evisa?

According to the Resolution of the government from August 15th 2023, there are 13 airports that foreigners can enter and exist by Evisa including: Noi Bai (Hanoi), Tan Son Nhat (Ho Chi Minh), Cam Ranh (Nha Trang), Da Nang, Cat Bi (Hai Phong), Can Tho, Phu Quoc (Kien Giang), Phu Bai (Hue), Van Don (Quang Ninh), Tho Xuan (Thanh Hoa), Dong Hoi (Quang Binh), Phu Cat (Binh Dinh) and Lien Khuong (Lam Dong)

What are the border gates for Vietnam Evisa?

There are 16 border gates throughout Vietnam from the North to South where foreign travellers can enter and exit with Evisa, including: Tay Trang (Dien Bien), Mong Cai (Quang Ninh), Huu Nghi (Lang Son), Lao Cai, Na Meo (Thanh Hoa), Nam Can (Nghe An), Cau Treo (Ha Tinh), Cha Lo (Quang Binh), La Lay and Lao Bao (Quang Tri), Bo Y (Kon Tum), Moc Bai and Xa Mat (Tay Ninh), Tinh Bien and Vinh Xuong (An Giang), Ha Tien (Kien Giang).


What are the seaport for Vietnam Evisa?

There are 13 seaports that foreigners can enter and exist Vietnam through from the North to South including: Hon Gai and Cam Pha (Quang Ninh), Hai Phong, Nghi Son (Thanh Hoa), Vung Ang (Ha Tinh), Chan May  Hue) , Tien Sa (Da Nang), Nha Trang (Khanh Hoa), Quy Nhon (Binh Dinh), Dung Quat (Quang Ngai), Vung Tau and Phu My (Vung Tau), Nha Rong (Ho Chi Minh City) and Duong Dong (Kien Giang).

The Vietnam government has approved unilaterally 15 days to 45 days visa exemption for citizens of 13 countries who are from Germany, France, Italy, Spain, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, Russia, Japan, Korea, Denmark, Sweden, Norway, Finland, Belarus. Citizens of these countries entering Vietnam are allowed to stay for 45 days from the date of entry, regardless of passport type and purpose of entry.


Previously, the National Assembly authorized extending the stay in Vietnam to 45 days for citizens of countries unilaterally exempted from visa by Vietnam, compared to the period provided in the law on entry, exit, transit and stay of foreigners in Vietnam in 2014.

In June, the National Assembly passed the law amending and supplementing a number of articles of the Law on Exit and Entry of Vietnamese Citizens and the Law on Entry, Exit, Transit and Residence of foreigners staying in Vietnam which allows to extend Evisa from 30 to 90 days.

Currently, the electronic visa issued by the Immigration Department to foreigners through the electronic transaction system is valid once. Prior to the above resolution, Vietnam granted electronic visas to citizens of 80 countries.

+ 84 936 37 46 76